Guest Editor–Be Inspired

It’s the season of scintillating angels and no person better reflects that image than this month’s Guest Editor—Lea Rannells Comrie. When you read her story (A Haven for Healing, out on Amazon.com) it’s almost impossible not to feel the effect of something much greater than us. A near-death childhood sickness; painful endometriosis; a collapsed lung; empathy so severe it literally makes her sick—these are the ways in which Lea believes she has been tested. But instead of falling into the black hole, Lea has turned these trials into triumphs. Since her early experience with death and seeing the “light,” she has sought out God and has become deeply invested in learning his intentions for health and the human body. She is a holistic practitioner with a degree in bodywork and an expert in flower essence therapy. While she has healed many people with her hands-on approach, it’s her deep faith that inspires us the most. It’s a faith in God but it’s also a faith in her self and loved ones that she applies to every aspect of her life, including a very high profile modeling career that has landed her on the set of Project Runway. Keeping one’s convictions and practicing peace within pandemonium is truly a gift, especially at this time of year, when harmony can be as elusive as the Holy Grail. Here, Inspired Living captures some of Lea’s light…

(Inspired Living) If one were feeling very Bah-Humbugish at the moment, hypothetically speaking of course, what advice would you give them? 

(Lea Rannells Comrie) One of my favorite quotes is, “Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble, or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still find peace in your heart.” I found out during my first fashion week in New York City that I couldn’t always physically escape the chaos, so I needed to develop the skill of evoking an inner haven. When you practice going inside you, it becomes easier to call on that peaceful place whenever you need to.

(Inspired Living) If one happened to be feeling overwhelmed right about now, again hypothetically speaking, what would you recommend?

(LRC) Whenever I start to feel overwhelmed, I always stop and think of someone I am grateful for. I have learned that gratitude is one of the most powerful forces in the universe. There are so many opportunities to serve people who are less fortunate this time of year. Giving will feed your soul and open your eyes to see all the things in your life that you have to be so incredibly grateful for.

(IL) You say in your book that you can “shift” the energy that you see. How does that work?

(LRC) There is a constant light moving through everything. I have been able to see this light since my out of body experience as a child. I speak about it only in the hope that it offers peace to know that God and light and angels are moving around and through us at all times. I can feel the warmth and energy of that light moving through the body and I encourage it to flow into places of imbalance.

(IL) You use flower essences in your healing practices, are you a natural beauty girl as well?

(LRC) I try to keep my beauty regimen as natural as I can, but I love being a girl! My hair certainly has taken a beating over the years with modeling so I infuse it every once in awhile with a mixture of frankincense essential oil and olive oil. I have a recipe for it in my book! For glowing skin, it is vital to steam at least once a week—your moisturizer will be so much more effective. I add a few cinnamon sticks and thyme to a small pot of water, boil, and reduce to simmer. Then I carefully lean over the pot and let the steam hit my face. After about 10 minutes, I cleanse and moisturize.

(IL) What are some of your hard-earned beauty secrets?

(LRC) I would have to say my two best-kept beauty secrets are rose water and coconut oil. Coconut oil is amazing. It has so many healing properties and is very effective on dry skin. Rose water is amazing spritzed on the face, plus it smells as good as it works!

(IL) What natural product have you had the most success with in your practice?

(LRC) Castor oil is a miracle. Not only can a castor oil packs be used for more serious ailments such as fibroids, but it can be used to help with everyday issues such as constipation, inflamed and swollen joints, bursitis, and muscle strains. It has helped me immensely with endometriosis.

(IL) You speak about the power of prayer in your book. It seems that you could be in a paper bag and still be in touch with your spirituality.

(LRC) I’m chuckling to myself right now because truthfully I pray almost all day long; people must think I’m crazy because I’m always talking to myself. Prayer can be ceremonial and prayer can happen while driving down the highway. Prayer shouldn’t be stuck in a box with rules of how it has to go. Prayer is a free flowing connection with the Creator. I utilize as many forms of prayer as I can. Sometimes I pray quietly and intentionally at night after a long day, and sometimes my prayers happen after the lady in the sports car cuts me off, and I pray that she can find the peace to slow down. Prayer is so powerful that if I were a doctor, I would write the world a prescription for it!

(IL) You are so true and good! Please tell us your vices!

(LRC) Carbs! I could take down a whole loaf of garlic bread after an especially hard day. I don’t drink or smoke but I am weak when it comes to a great piece of bread.

(IL) Give a little description about your new business? Is this a new path?

(LRC) My new business, The Art of Fashion Event Productions, is just the next step on the same path I’ve been walking. Starting this company with my mom is my way of trying to serve on a bigger level. I have been given the opportunity to take something pop culture and use it to bring goodness to people. I believe that love is in the little things, and I wanted to have a business where I could be a part of the special events in people’s life and make them something they will always remember. http://www.artfashionproductions.com

(IL) If you were an animal, what would you be?

I would be a giraffe. In middle school there was a boy who used to tease me by calling me giraffe girl. Now I embrace that. Check me out strolling around on my super long legs grazing on leaves and veggies all day!

Here's Lea as the new spokesmodel for the Dream Believe Know It Foundation's No Bully Zone. At the moment she's prepping her long, gorgeous gams for her Rock the Runway for a Purpose event in January to strut out bullying. Take that you middle-school teaser boy! http://www.thedbkfoundation.org

 

We loved reading Lea's book, A Haven for Healing, and it's not just because we are mentioned on page 37 (The Garden of Eatin')! From beginning to end, it just makes you feel good, calm and relaxed, as if you just emerged from the best massage you ever had. (http://www.amazon.com/Haven-Healing-Journey-Discovery-through/dp/1457506718)

Leave a Reply

